top of page
  • Writer's pictureMiss 'Ayn Sayuti

Canberra: The Food

Updated: Apr 7, 2018

You don't need to worry about finding Halal places in Canberra, it's not many but it's not that hard to find. There are few places in the Civic and even the food court serves halal food, all you need to do is ask and look for the halal certificate which is always displayed at the front of the shop.

Malaysian food

For those who can't live without sambal or curry , there are PappaRich, Roti House and the Sammy's Kitchen in the Civic. There is also a Malaysian restaurant in Belconnen known as Malaysian Chapter that offers variety of Malaysian delicacies, from roti canai , nasi lemak, mee goreng and others. You named it, they can cook for you (well it depends on the menu lah!).


Thai Food

I love having Thai food sometimes. For those who prefer a hot and spicy dishes, Thai food is just for you. We normally went to Chong Co at the Westfield Woden or Belconnen. It's a bit far from my place, but if I need to satisfy the cravings, I could just drive and go! Please ask for halal option only ya (Chicken, seafood or veggies).

Chinese Food

Chinese food is everywhere :) I'm not sure about the Halal restaurants, but if I want to have dim sum, I will just go to Dickson and order seafood and vegetarian dim sum. Or you can go to PapaRich or the Roti House for a bowl of Char Hor Fun, Char Kuay Teow or Laksa Goreng. It's delicious and cooks in a Malaysian way.


Japanese Food

I learned to love sushi and ramen since I lived in Canberra. There are lots of sushi places in Canberra. My favourite place for sushi were the Bon Kura in Dickson and the Sushi Bay in Belconnen (certified halal - and no pork serve). The sushis are great, and I love the Prawn Karage.

Indian Food

Garnish of India is the best so far. There's also Taj Agra (kinda fancy and a fine dining). It's always cheaper to dine in for lunch hour, although I don't go out for lunch every day, I brought my home-cooked lunch to Uni almost every day. To have a cheaper option, there is always Halal Indian food in the food court in the mall around Canberra.


The burgers, wraps, kebab, sandwiches and Pizza

If you're craving for burgers (I did sometimes ;)) you can try the chicken burger at the Oporto, Civic or you can go to the Samiuz Restorante in Bruce (the pizza is great too, try the 3 ways chicken pizza) or the Kingsley Chicken in Belconnen (the fried chicken is halal as well). There are few Arabic food restaurants and the best is in Yarralumla, The Turkish Halal Pide. The kebab is huge and you can share! They opened a small outlet in Lyneham too. There are also halal meat and poultry markets in Belconnen, Yarralumla, Mawson and Fyshwick where you can buy various cuts to cook for.

My friend, Kak Wan visited and we had lunch here like 3x that week! I used to sell my cookies here too.


The Sweet Thingy


The Patissez, Kingston

We had these at 9 am, it's not too early for a FREAK SHOWs right? ;) You have to come early or there will be a long queue.


The Riccardo's Cafe, Jamison Plaza

You can order your halal option here.

The best fish and chips in town!

Nice eh?! I had the Pineapple cake for my birthday.


Seafood

There's a nice seafood place at the Fyshwick Market. It's a bit far, we get our seafood whenever we went to the Canberra Outlet or DFO (Direct Factory Outlet) to buy few branded items at a bargain price. The closest fish and chips are in the Civic and Jamison Plaza (Riccardo's).


There are many other great cafes and restaurants around Canberra if you really like to explore new food, not to forget the desserts and coffee (the Cold Rock - the cool ice cream parlour, the Goodberry's in Belconnen - the best creamiest frozen custard in the world, Via Dolce in Civic that has cakes and ice creams to die for, Koko Black, Max Brenner for hot chocolate, Oliver Brown, Jamie Oliver Italian Restaurant (I haven't got a chance to go there yet), the Pancake Parlour, cafes along the Lonsdale St (I really love that place, they have art market over there) and so many more.


Please go and explore Canberra as I love Canberra ~ maybe way too much. The food and the ambience are great and I wish I could come back again, soon.

219 views0 comments
bottom of page