top of page
  • Writer's pictureMiss 'Ayn Sayuti

Australia: Canberra the Capital Territory

Updated: Apr 7, 2018

Canberra was my home for 3.5 years. OMG, I miss Canberra so much, right now!

What I love the most about Canberra is the autumn season. I really love it when the leaves turned yellow, orange and red, what a beautiful sight! One of my favourite spots is near the Lake Burley Griffin (in front of the National Library and the National Gallery), there are other museums and galleries that can be visited in walking distance as well. My friends and I used to have a lunch picnic near the Sculpture Garden or by the benches near the lake. It's one of our most favourite activities after a busy weekday at Uni, and it's a great way to enjoy the beautiful weather and the scenic views of Canberra.

That's me, in my favourite autumn moment

The map of Canberra: my favourite places https://www.google.com/maps/@-35.275313,149.1188774,13.25z

The neighbourhood

I used to live in a quiet neighbourhood in O'Connor. It's very close to the Civic (CBD -Central Business District) and ANU (Australian National University). But since I'm studying in UC (University of Canberra), I have to

drive or take a 20 minutes bus. Every suburb has a small community centre (there are few restaurants, bar, pharmacy, shops etc.) but, it closes a bit early, around 5 pm daily. So, if you prefer to do some shopping after 4 pm, you can just go to the Civic or nearby and bigger suburbs such as Belconnen, Jamison, Dickson (the Chinatown - our favorite place for sushi or vegan food), Kingston or Woden where the Westfield Mall, Woolies, Aldi or Coles situated, the closing time is around 10 pm daily.


Places to visit

Canberra is kinda quiet, no traffic jam, everything was easy breezy. I really enjoyed my life in Canberra. It's very peaceful and a good place to study (since I'm doing my PhD at that time, December 2012 - May 2016).

The Telstra Tower

The view of Canberra from the tower

The Parliament House

The new Parliament House

My graduation day at the Parliament House, 12th April 2017

The old Parliament House : Enlighten Festival

The War Memorial

I have a similar picture, but I couldn't find it anywhere. So I borrowed it from Spiritland.net

The National Museum

The National Galleries & the Sculpture Garden

The National Arboretum

The Cockington Garden

The lakes & parks around Canberra

Lake Burley Griffin - my favourite place to relax and ease my mind

The Nara Park, I think

A very nice weather for a picnic

I think, this is somewhere on the far side of ANU, I forgot, sorry!


Events and things to do in Canberra Enlighten Festival

Floriade


Hot air balloon

The sunrise, we're waiting for the hot air balloon

Fireworks - Lake Burley Griffin

Apple Picking - Pialligo

We're having so much fun that day, ate lots of apples and bought a bucket full.

Cultural Day - CIVIC I couldn't find any picture, will update later.

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page